Der Schwarzwald

I’m really settling into my Workaway placement here in Feldberg. There are four volunteers in total and our accommodation has a definite ‘summer camp’ atmosphere!

 

My trips out are a lot more fun with other volunteers. On our first day off, we walked to Bärental. It’s the closest town to where we’re staying, and has some lovely walking trails. 


The best part about this area is being able to walk everywhere. And, even though the forest is beautiful, it does completely block the view. I’m staying at Ben Nevis height, but can’t really see anything until I’m even higher! 

I’ve been using my time off to explore the area. A particular highlight was Windgfällweiher, a lake very close to the hotel. It really reminded me of Scotland, and I’m getting a lot more comfortable with swimming in lakes! 

Leave a Reply

