The Comic Invention

Again, this isn’t really related to travelling, but Glasgow is a really interesting city and I love to talk about the events happening here.

On the recommendation of one of my lecturers, I went to see the Hunterian Art Gallery exhibition of original sketches from comic book artists. These were displayed alongside older examples of art which fit the definition of a graphic novel: widespread media with images and text depicting a story. These included illustrated Georgian Bibles and Victorian panels, like William Hogarth’s “A Harlot’s Progress.”

The exhibition also features pop art work. Roy Lichtenstein’s painting “In the Car” is featured. The poster for the exhibition is a fun modern take on it!

 

I really enjoyed it because I got the chance to see the original artwork for “Maus” a graphic novel by Art Spiegelman. It was one of the texts I studied last semester for comparative literature, and I think it had the most effect on me when I was reading it. It is about Spiegelman’s father and his harrowing experiences during the Holocaust.

I know that was a pretty short post, but it’s definitely something to look out for if you’re in Glasgow!

Leave a Reply

