My very first post!

Hi!

I will be using this to document and share my travel experiences – I’m not very reliable when it comes to posting, but I’ll try to blog fairly regularly. Because this is travel themed, it will be most active when I’m travelling. I’ll be able to include some of my photographs here, and if you like those you can see more on my Instagram: https://instagram.com/skyseastars/

It’s great how my first post on a travel blog is when I’m travelling! I’m currently on a family holiday in Beauly, a little Scottish town near Inverness. We were planning to camp, but at the last minute we decided the weather just wasn’t good enough. Even so, it’s been pretty amazing so far!

We went to see the Burghead Pictish well near Nairn. Unique in Scotland, it’s

better described as a high stone chamber with a natural pool inside, with stone steps leading down to it. The purpose is thought to be a religious shrine, or even an early baptism pool, as it seems too specific for a well, and it’s not even an ideal water source. We actually saw a blackbird nesting near the entrance to the pool, which shows how few people must visit this relatively unknown gem. I’ve never been so close to a nest before either, and that was really special to see.

Yesterday we headed to Chanonry Point. It’s a wonderful place to see wild dolphins, if you’re willing to wait around in the cold! We saw about ten dolphins, sometimes in pairs, and stood watching them for a good half hour (even with three winter coats and a jumper, I couldn’t have survived the wind any longer)! Something about the currents there makes the dolphins come in close to the beach to feed, so we were able to see them very clearly. They were wheeling in the water, and occasionally jumped right out! Once one starts playing, there’s some friendly competition and they all want to – it’s a truly amazing sight, and completely unexpected. Unfortunately I didn’t get any photos, so you’ll have to just take my word for it!

It’s only a few days into the holiday, and already I’ve had some unforgettable experiences. Hope you liked my first blog post, more on the way soon.

Leave a Reply

